Diving Into the Wreck

Diving Into the Wreck

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
1
The award-winning novella that launched a universe, Diving into the Wreck introduces Boss and her crew for the first time. Boss dives derelict space vessels, for money, yes, but more for their historical value. So, when Boss uncovers the find of a lifetime, she enlists the best divers she can convince to help her pursue it-off the grid and under the Empire's radar. But the more they discover, the less they realize they know-and the more it will cost them all. The Diving into the Wreck novella also appears in a slightly different form in its entirety in the novel Diving into the Wreck."Rusch takes the dangers inherent in deep sea diving and memorably puts them into the deep dark vacuum of space, making the exploration of the hulk a much more complicated issue than tends to be the case in the SF."-Best SF Reviews" Tense and gripping, the interpersonal conflicts kick this story up a notch. The endlessly enjoyable terror of dark, alien, empty spaces brimming with unknowable danger and impenetrable mystery should keep fans of the genre hooked."-The Internet Review of Science Fiction". . .a powerful drama of human characters."-Locus" Kristine Kathryn Rusch tells us about the captain of a salvage ship who makes a remarkable discovery and enlists a group of people to salvage it. Rusch creates some interesting characters here and also gives us a great story."-SFRevuInternational bestselling writer Kristine Kathryn Rusch has won two Hugo awards, a World Fantasy Award, and six Asimov's Readers Choice Awards. For more information about her work, please go to kristinekathrynrusch. com. For more information about the Diving universe, to which this story belongs, go to divingintothewreck. com. --Provided by publisher
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : WMG Publishing, 2013
ISBN: 9781301022502
Branch Call Number: EBOOK ENKI
Characteristics: 1 online resource
data file
Additional Contributors: enki Library

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
7
7626dee
Feb 26, 2018

Very interesting concepts, space wrecks and lost technology. The heroine is an odd mix-capable of space travel alone but very unsure of her own persona because of childhood trauma. Nice to humanize science fiction and to make the future understandable by tying it to the past and present. I like the way she writes!

Sammiqat Jul 12, 2012

This is very good straight science fiction, the kind of thing that should appeal to readers of Clarke, Asimov, Heinlein, and Cherryh's Alliance-Union books. It's suspenseful adventure about people and technology in space, with a lot of interesting history providing a background to both the narrator and the world. The prose style can be a bit irritating; the first-person narrator, Boss, tends, to an excessive degree, to address the audience in brusque, partial sentences when building up suspense or general ominousness, and the sustained present-tense voice would put me off after a while if the story weren't so gripping. However, it is.

Age

Add Age Suitability
b
bookKITTY
Jun 27, 2011

bookKITTY thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ACLib

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top